Erica Campbell Goes Solo, Mitchell Gets the Axe, & Teddy Moves Out on Mary Mary

 

 Everyone’s favorite Gospel duo has a LOT going on these days, based upon their hit show “Mary Mary.”

Erica and Tina

 Tina and Erica have a heart-to-heart about what is going on in her marriage, and how she is handling it.

Tina emotionally cracks when speaking on the betrayal, and how it has been made worse by the fact that Teddy keeps withholding the full story about his infidelity and tells her a little bit here, a little bit there. She shared her feelings not with Teddy in the scene, but with Erica, telling her what she wants to tell Teddy:

“You stole my life away from me. I’m angry. Why you gotta do me like this?! I was good to you, man!”

In her anger, she says that she thinks she wants to move on from Teddy.

“I don’t want him. He don’t deserve me. I don’t want him.”

However, it’s the words of her sister that get her to calm down. Erica shares how she got through infidelity in her own relationship (yes, she states it clearly in the new episode):

“You said you’ve never been through this, I have…I’m a tell you how you get better.”

 

So, as I said in my previous Mary Mary post, I mentioned about Warryn cheating on Erica as well, ding ding ding, I was right.

She previously alluded to the fact that her and Warryn had “went through what they went through” so many views “put two and two together.” Moving right along…

Tina and Teddy Campbell have been the main topic of half of this season of “Mary Mary.” Teddy originally made Tina believe that he cheated only once. He later revealed, to Warryn first, that his infidelities were “more times than he can count.”

Can I be completely honest with y’all? He never looks “apologetic” to me. He seems “down” because he got busted, (or maybe one of the mistresses was going to “spill the beans”), but he just never looks remorseful to me. Someone made the comment that he just doesn’t want Tina to leave him now that they have 4 children, who are still quite young, because child support would be outrageous for him.

Don’t know if that is what he is thinking, however, he seems “unbothered” by the whole thing. Like he’s just “going through the motions.” 

He gives me the face of a kid busted for stealing candy out of the corner store… not “I cheated on my wife more times than I can count, and I want to make our marriage work, help me.” Maybe I’m reading too much into this, but I doubt it.

Have you ever seen that movie, “He’s just not that into you?” Well I feel like Tina is the star of that. She has ALWAYS been more into Teddy & her marriage/family, moreso than he. When they went to Jamaica, the way she’s holding him around the neck, you would think that SHE did something wrong, and is trying to make up for it. She claims on the show that she is upset, but when she gets with Teddy, I dont’ get that same anger. Am I alone?

In no way am I saying that Teddy never loved her, but even BEFORE he confessed, I knew SOMETHING wasn’t right. They had NO chemistry whatsoever. They seemed more like “roommates” than anything. I’m just saying.

 

Tina confessed she didn’t realize how broken down she was going to be. In an interview she speaks about her dark thoughts.

“I think people need to see what real life looks like. It’s not all this ‘Heavenly Father, I’m in a bad way.’ Like I’m probably going to go to hell but before I leave I’m taking some people with me. Either you gon’ help me or this is the way it’s going to be. This is the way I was talking to God because I was in a bad way…it was that bad.” 

Tina said initially she thought revenge was the answer. But quickly realized that avenging herself didn’t relieve any of the hurt. And it was then that she decided to get back to her foundation. During this time, where she was studying the Bible and speaking candidly with God that she learned her faith wasn’t as strong as it appeared to be on stage.

 This whole “tea” about Teddy has spread like wildfire, and now they are appearing on “main stream media.” I won’t say it’s because people like drama, but I will say that it’s because of what’s going on on their show, that has become a hit on WeTv.

Let me just take a pause, and say this. I love Mary Mary… Lord knows I do, but…

Some of the hairstyles that Tina wears KILLS me softly. You can look “young, and hip” without looking childish. Tina has always had her own style, but sometimes with her hair, I just want to tell her “less is more.” It becomes a distraction from her beautiful face. Maybe I just don’t get it, and you guys love it. #kanyeshrug

See! Look how beautiful and regal they look! Tina is giving you “Hot girl next door,” while Erica is giving you “My Mom is hotter than yours.” They look fantastic here.

Which takes me to this. Erica made the comment while choosing wardrobe that this above album cover for “The Sound” turned a lot of “Christians” off. She said that churches would ask them for a different album cover for events. HUH?? I personally love their style.

I just don’t understand why you have to be covered head to toe as a Christian. Me looking like a “ninja” is not what will get me to Heaven. I will NEVER think it’s ok to be half dressed or “naked” (like Rhianna), however, I jus don’t think that 30-40 year old women should dress like they are over the “Mothers Board” at their churches.

Even for their Ebony Magazine cover, they are talked about. I thought they both looked gorgeous. You can be “saved” and “sexy.” Plus they are both MARRIED….. WITH CHILDREN. That didn’t happen with them fully clothed, I’m pretty sure. People focus on the wrong things.

But this is how Erica and Tina are supposed to dress in the “Gospel” world. It’s funny how some of these churches had a problem with their attire, yet some of the members probably love the music of other Gospel artists who are downlow/gay. We won’t go there today though.

 

Source: WENN

Anyway, they look lovely, nonetheless, and I see nothing wrong with how they dress. God isn’t focusing on that! You have ministers in the pulpits with robes and crosses everywhere sleeping with the choir director. Worry about your temple!

Let me just stop and say that THIS is probably the BES photo I have every seen of Mary Mary. Tina is gorgeous, and Erica is giving you circa Beyonce’ of 2004, and I’m here for all of it. They should keep this look.

Last night, you saw the “end of Mitch.”

This entire season, Mitchell got into it with the Campbells, all of them. No one was spared. I can’t count how many times that Goo Goo and Mitch have gotten into it. It’s “more times than I can count.”

Tina and Erica have mentioned on several occasions that they have lost money, because of Mitchell and how he handles things sometimes. Erica has been the one to have most of the conversations with Mitch, because Tina has not been around as much. But clearly, the look on Tina’s face shows that Mitchell’s time is up. Clearly.

Thus far, Solarek, referred to as simply “Mitch” on the show, has been cast as a hot-headed business failure who did not make good on his promises to take the Campbells’ career to another level—a suggestion he vehemently disputes in episode 3, that aired Thursday, March 13. Erica and Mitchell have a talk about the career status of Mary Mary.

What are all the things you promised when you got here?” Erica interrogated him over lunch during one scene. “[You said] You’re gonna get crossover success—”

Solarek interrupted, flabbergasted, “You don’t have crossover success? Your brand is bigger than it’s ever been! So let’s just stop the conversation right now, cause you will lose in this conversation and it’s not gonna be pretty.”

Then, in the middle of the heated discussion that was unmistakably spliced in the preview, Solarek is shown as resolutely saying, “The bridge is burned.”

But how did he arrive at that conclusion? What words were exchanged that would make the group’s then manager conclude that irreparable damage had been done to the relationship?

Maybe that will be answered in the full episode. Maybe it won’t.  Either way, so far, Solarek is less than thrilled with what he has seen.

I feel like sometimes, with these reality shows, they can be a bit biased. The chopping and screwing of these episodes are ridiculous. Shoot it as it is happening.

When Mitchell and Erica had their talk, Mitchell got a little upset and began to yell at Erica, which in turn, caused a problem with Warryn. Warryn, then pulled Mitch’s coattails about the situation.

Let me say this, my husband is my best friend, and if another man thinks that he will talk to me crazy, that will be the last day moving his lips. I’m just saying. There’s always a better way to handle things.

However, I don’t blame Mitchell for everything. He is the one that got them the “Mary Mary” show on WeTv in the first place. They got to perform at Essence Festival on the main stage, their Ebony cover, etc. In 2 years, they have done a lot. I feel like Tina had misdirected anger towards Mitchell. I think that her issues with Teddy spilled over to Mitch and made it worse. Tina was wrong to not tell Mitchell about what she said in Ebony. Don’t “blindside” the man. If you told your publicist, you should tell your manager. Period. Tina was ALWAYS late, and sometimes there would only be 1 “Mary,” instead of 2!

So, Mitchell is out, and Mary Mary now have another manager. So let’s recap this post!

Though Erica and Tina Campbell of award-winning duo Mary Mary are being sued by former manager Mitchell Solarek, they have already moved on. According to their spokesperson, the ladies will not publicly address the nasty legal dispute, reports EUR Web.

Instead, they have shifted attention to their new management relationship with Kenneth Crear, a respected entertainment executive who has helped mold lucrative careers and has also developed partnerships with mainstream acts like Justin Timberlake, Britney Spears, Janet Jackson, The Kardashians, the Backstreet Boys, Ciara, and Mindless Behavior.

Mary Mary’s first order of business was successfully launching Season 3 of their self-titled WE tv reality show, without Solarek, who was instrumental in securing the television deal that effectively increased their celebrity it factor.

But that whirlwind relationship that began two and a half years ago in 2011, came to an abrupt end with Solarek of Maximum Artist Group claiming that, after securing deals worth more than $3 Million for Mary Mary, they fired him and withheld more than $75,000 in commissions, supposedly. According to his federal lawsuit filed in Tennessee court, the allegedly burned manager is seeking to recoup payment, as well as future commissions from music, merchandising, books and sponsorships.

Even with all the drama surrounding the duo, the “new Mitch” is likely more than capable of picking up where the old one left off.

According to Crear’s online profile, he has influential ties to film, television and music, in addition to an “innate ability to discover and develop new talent as well as to take the careers of renowned artists to greater heights.”

Erica Campbell has a lot to shout about. Her album “Help” debuted #1 on the Gospel charts, and #6 on the Billboard 100.  She is releasing her new song with Lecrae next. She looks AMAZING in the video! Congrats E!

I personally love the styling of Erica (as a solo artist). I think that they are doing a great job of that. She has been looking gorgeous. I love the fact that her and Warryn work as a team. That’s how it’s supposed to be.

Tina & Teddy… my thoughts.

I, in no way, shape or form, would tell Tina to divorce Teddy. However, Teddy obviously has issues with sex addiction/infidelity/commitment that needs correcting. It’s sad that this aspect to a sense is playing out in the media. It would make people feel like, “Man, not even Christian men can remain faithful.” I have seen people post that on social media.

I think that Tina is a gorgeous woman, and a wonderful Mother. I pray that she works her situation out, whatever it may be. I wouldn’t stay with Teddy, but if that is what you feel God told you to do, so be it sister.

Maximum Artist Group CEO, who filed a lawsuit against Tina and Erica Campbell in 2013 for allegedly withholding $75,000 in managerial commissions, took to Facebook to air out his feelings of disappointment.

“Well, I finally caught a few minutes of this season of Mary Mary for the first time. I am processing it all, but I will simply say that the show is called ‘Mary Mary’,” he wrote on March 8, suggesting extreme bias displayed on the program that the sisters control, since the two are executive producers.

He continued, “The idea that the show (real lives) would be told in a truthful, balanced narrative would simply be naive.”

 In numerous interviews both Tina and Erica have confirmed that they have full control over what airs on the show–a stipulation written into their WE tv contracts before agreeing to sign on.

Am I disappointed with the editing?” Solarek asked on Facebook and then answered his own question with “of course.”

He continued, “Am I surprised, not at all. It is called after [all], Mary Mary.

Whatever went down between 2011 when he signed on and 2013 when he was axed, has left bad blood between the two parties.

Despite the unfavorable portrayal–whether true or false–Solarek’s business continues to thrive. His current roster of clients include big names like Donald Lawrence, Natalie Grant, Lalah Hathaway, Danny Gokey and Bernie Herms.

Don’t know how this season will end, however, I think that Mary Mary season 4 shall be interesting. I’m pretty sure they got enough viewers this season to renew for another one. Your thoughts?

Leave a comment